CHAPTER I.

CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT.

Constitution defined. 40. The Imperial Act, 30 Vic., cap. 3, known as the British North America Act, 1867, defines the Constitution of the Dominion of Canada, which it declares to be similar in principle to that of the United Kingdon. The Executive Government and authority, as well as the command-in-chief of all naval and military forces of and in Canada, are declared to be vested in the Queen, who governs through the person of a Governor General, appointed by her for a term of five years.

The Privy Council.

41. The Governor General takes no active part in legislation, but governs through a Council, known as the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, to which belong all those who are or have been advisers of the Crown. The Executive Committee of the Privy Council consists of those members of the Dominion Parliament who are for the time being Ministers of the Crown, either as heads of the various administrative Departments, or as members of the Cabinet without portfolio, and who form the Government of the day. Members of the Privy Council are styled Honourable, and for life. The power of dismissing the Ministry or of removing members of the Privy Council lies with the Governor General.

The Governor General. 42. The Governor General assents in the Queen's name to all measures passed by the Senate and House of Commons, but he may refuse such assent, and may reserve Bills for Her Majesty's consideration. He also has power to disallow Acts of the Provincial Legislatures within one year of their having been passed in the Province.

The Parliament.

43. There is one Parliament for Canada, consisting of the Queen, represented by the Governor General; an Upper House styled the Senate, the members of which are appointed, and a Lower House, or House of Commons, the members of which are elected.